Past Event

Mid-Day Music featuring students from MPP Performance Seminar

November 12, 2021
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Buell Hall, 515 W. 116 St., New York, NY 10027

RSVP here.

Please join us for our second installment of Mid-Day Music at Columbia's Maison Française!

This recital will feature student chamber music groups from Dr. Magdalena Stern-Baczewska's Performance Seminar, performing works by Barrière, Beethoven, and Brahms.

All current Columbia University students, faculty, and staff with an active CUID and green pass are invited to attend in-person. Everyone else is warmly invited to watch our live stream, which will take place on our Facebook event page.

The Performance Seminar (formerly MPP’s “Masterclass”) is open to classical musicians of any instrument(s) with the highest commitment to performance. Students are admitted via live audition during the first week of classes in the Fall. Each week, two students perform repertoire of their choice to the class and receive feedback from everyone present. The discussions, moderated by the director of the Music Performance Program, Dr. Magdalena Stern-Baczewska, are designed to provide constructive criticism to the performers and to pose questions related to performance from the perspectives of professional collaboration and pedagogy.


Sonata à deux Violoncelles en G Majeur by Jean-Baptiste Barrière (1707 – 1747)


Allegro Prestissimo

Preformed by Thomas Lim and Sasha He, cellos

Sonata in C Minor, Op. 13, No. 8 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Adagio cantabile


Performed by Angela Yu, piano

Sonata in F Major, Op. 54, No. 22 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

In tempo d’un menuetto

Allegretto—Piú allegro

Performed by Shiv Yajnik, piano

Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60 by Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

Allegro non troppo

Performed by Linyue (Joy) Fan, violin; Hannah Lee, viola; Daniel Weitz, cello; Marco Jimenez, piano

Trio in A Minor, Op. 114 by Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)



Andantino grazioso


Performed by Anoush Pogossian, clarinet; Sasha He, cello; Jonathan Hou, piano

Contact Information

Maison Fran�aise